Just Stomp All Over My Excitement, Yeah?

I’m the type of girl to go completely bonkers when I meet someone I deem a celebrity. I wouldn’t lose my beans over Kim Kardashian because she has done nothing that I admire. The same goes for most reality tv stars, I just don’t get the appeal but when someone who is actually talented crosses my path I get super excited.

I was talking to an acquaintance about James Morrison, and that if I ever met him I would have to control my screams and make sure that I keep my inside voice present. She looked at me and said

“Why? He’s a human like the rest of us.”

I felt like telling her to shut up. I felt like telling her “duh, I know that.” This response isn’t the first and probably not the last of it’s kind that I will ever hear.

It annoys me that someone out there feels like I should be less excited about anything, regardless of what it is.

There are so many things in this world that could make you feel crappy and down. Why ignore the little things that make you scream with glee? Because getting excited about them may make you appear childish?

So many people are afraid of doing things because they don’t want to come across a certain way and they end up living an extremely unhappy life because of it.

I truly believe that “midlife crises” happens because people get to a certain point and want to be happy and they want to be themselves. There shouldn’t be any sort of crisis if you stop lying to yourself and everyone else.

From what this acquaintance said I could turn around and go “yeah, I’ll pipe down if I see James Morrison.. I shouldn’t even ask for an autograph”…

But I’m me, and if James Morrison ever crosses my path I’m going to giggle, laugh, scream, get his autograph and for that very short moment of euphoria, I won’t be thinking of my bills, faults, bad memories, or fun-snatching acquaintances.

4 thoughts on “Just Stomp All Over My Excitement, Yeah?

  1. You tell ’em! As for crises, don’t most of us have them from time to time? Are they different when they happen in the middle of our lives? Or just over different stuff…. I’m no longer sure what a crisis is since I seem to be in one most of the time these days! šŸ™‚ ….mind you, I haven’t grown a pony tail or bought a sports car, but I did get a camper van at 40 and a tattoo at 51. Between that I had some good times and some proper crises too! &-\

    Liked by 1 person

      • Noooo! It isn’t fun! But I think it all balances out in the end. I hope! And if not it makes us appreciate the good stuff! I read somewhere here just the other day, something like ‘what doesn’t kill you makes you wish it never happened’, had to laugh at that!

        Like

Leave a Reply

